When to jump ship if it’s sinking

Michael Normart
3 min readJan 1, 2021

My Journey in the Footwear Industry that lead me to Zappos #41

So, in Blog #40 I talked about how the grass isn’t always greener…In this blog I want to talk about when to jump ship if it’s sinking.

Frank treated everyone poorly. He loved “being the boss”. People started quitting in droves. My friend Tim, another store manager from another store said “I’m done, Fuck Frank”. He got a job at Nordstrom, in San Francisco as a salesperson.

I toughed it out for 6 more months then Tim called me. “There’s an opening in Salon Shoes, I can put in a good word for you, I’m loving it here!”.

Steve’s vision was to make the stores cater to the masses instead of being more specialty. It wasn’t working, the sales numbers were dropping dramatically and customers were not happy. “Where am I going to find my size now?”, might as well go to Nordstrom they’d say. “Maybe “I” should go to Nordstrom” I thought.

Frank getting heat too

Apparently Frank was getting heat on the business, he would come to the store and walk very methodically. He acted like a Sargent, “what’s this?” “Or this?”, “Or this?” He’d bark. A handbag was slightly crooked, most likely moved by a customer. My salespeople would jump to correct it. The tension was so high everyone was complaining. I…

--

--