Zappos moves Headquarters to Las Vegas in 2004

My Journey in the Footwear Industry that lead me to Zappos #198

Michael Normart
2 min readJun 5, 2021

Blog #197 I talked about when about when Pam gets interviewed in San Francisco. In this blog I want to talk about when Zappos moves Headquarters to Las Vegas in 2004.

Zappos announces on January 7th, 2004, that the headquarters would be moving to Las Vegas to expand the call center. A few different states were considered including Colorado, Kentucky, Texas but Nevada had the best of both worlds. We could expand our call center employees and the cost of living was such, people could afford housing as well. Plus, there was the entertainment factor.

The first initial group would move in April to the new location at 500 Warm Springs, Las Vegas. A secondary group could work out of the San Francisco satellite office for another year. I was part of the secondary group. I was trying to figure out my marriage at the time so had to do some soul searching. We were going through counselling, and I wanted to make sure everything was good before I uprooted our kids away from their friends.

There were quite a few of us in the Satellite office. Most of the Private Label team was staying, Pam and a bunch of people from assorted departments. We had 12 months to figure out what we wanted to do.

--

--